34. Graham's Gunners clinch league title

Alan Smith scores against Manchester United in 1991

Graham's Gunners clinch 1991 title without kicking a ball. 6 May 1991

The memories of that dramatic night at Anfield in 1989 were still fresh in the mind of both Arsenal and Liverpool fans as the title race approached its climaz two seasons later.

On May 6, 1991, Arsenal would host Manchester United for an 8pm kick-off. Before that, Liverpool would travel to the City Ground to take on Nottingham Forest.

The mathematics suggested that Arsenal could in fact win the title without kicking a ball if Liverpool were defeated first - a far cry from two years before.

George Graham's team congregated at Highbury to watch Liverpool’s lunchtime game with Forest, and they weren't to be disappointed.

A 64th-minute goal from Ian Woan proved decisive after penalties from Jan Molby and Nigel Clough. Liverpool had lost and Arsenal were champions. There was jubilation at Highbury, but the professionalism of Graham never allowed his side to let the academia of the evening's match affect the result.

The players walked out of the tunnel to raptures of applause and a guard of honour from the United players. But when the match began, it was business as usual.

Arsenal took the lead through Alan Smith in the 19th minute after he latched on to a Lee Dixon cross. The England international made it two just before the break, collecting Kevin Campbell's pass before finding the corner.

Steve Bruce's handball allowed Smith to complete his hat-trick - and clinch the Golden Boot - in the second half. Bruce scored a consolation from the spot but it did not dampen Arsenal's celebrations - Graham's Gunners were worthy champions.

With thanks to The Official Illustrated History of Arsenal 2004.

See Full List

Fixtures & Results

UEFA Champions League
Ticket Info