Saka and Odegaard named in top three for FWA award

Martin Odegaard and Bukayo Saka celebrate scoring against Manchester City

Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard’s fine seasons have been recognised after they finished second and third respectively in the Football Writers' Association Player of the Year award for 2021/22.

The prestigious prize, which is decided after over 800 members of the media cast their votes, is in its 75th year and our duo came in behind Manchester City’s Erling Haaland who will receive the trophy after netting 51 goals so far during his debut campaign in England.

Saka’s brilliant season saw him finish in second spot, having scored 14 goals and register 11 assists in all competitions, while Odegaard’s first season as our skipper has seen him score 15 times for the first time in his career, as well as lay on eight assists for his teammates.

The duo picked up individual prizes earlier this season at the Football London Awards, when Bukayo scooped the Young Player of the Year award, while Martin was named Player of the Year.

Six Arsenal players have won the FWA's award during its history, starting with Joe Mercer all the way back in 1949/50. Frank McLintock was the recipient in 1970/71, while Dennis Bergkamp topped the poll in 1997/98.

Robert Pires was the winner in 2001/02, while Thierry Henry would go on to claim a hat-trick of titles across the next four seasons. Robin van Persie was our last victor back in 2011/12.

Meanwhile, Chelsea’s Sam Kerr won the women’s prize, with Aston Villa’s Rachel Daly finishing second and the Blues’ Lauren James coming third.

See Full List

Fixtures & Results

Premier League
Ticket Info