Odegaard and Saka up for PFA Player of the Year

Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard

Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard have both been nominated for the PFA Players' Player of the Year award.

PFA members have voted for their standout performers from the 2022/23 season, and our duo are among the six-man shortlist to win the top award.

Our skipper earns his nomination after a stellar last campaign, scoring 15 Premier League goals - the first central midfielder to score as many in a season for us in the competition’s history since Cesc Fabregas in 2009/10 - and contributing seven assists, as we mounted a title challenge right up until the closing weeks.

Martin wasn't short of individual accolades last season, having been named the Premier League Player of the Month for November/December, alongside nominations for the division’s Player and Young Player of the Year awards.

Bukayo enjoyed an equally impressive campaign, scoring 15 goals and providing 11 assists.

Our Hale End graduate was involved in all 38 Premier League games for the second season in a row. The last Arsenal player to not miss a single league game across back-to-back seasons was David Seaman in 1990/91 and 1991/92. He is also a nominee for the Young Player of the Year award, alongside teammate Gabriel Martinelli.

Bukayo's excellent season earned him recognition elsewhere, as he won the Football London Young Player of the Year award and finished third in the Football Writer’s Association Player of the Year voting.

He was also nominated for both the Premier League’s Player and Young Player of the Season.

The PFA Players' Player of the Year winner will be announced on Tuesday, August 29, when the PFA will commemorate the 50th anniversary of its awards ceremony by honouring the standout stars of the 2022/23 season.

Full shortlist for the 22/23 PFA Players' Player of the Year award:
Martin Odegaard – Arsenal
Bukayo Saka - Arsenal
Erling Haaland – Manchester City
Kevin De Bruyne - Manchester City
John Stones – Manchester City
Harry Kane - Tottenham Hotspur

See Full List

Fixtures & Results

Premier League
Ticket Info