Player of the season

Martin Odegaard named 2022/23 Player of the Season

Martin Odegaard has won our men’s Player of the Season award for the 2022/23 campaign.

Our skipper came out on top of the voting, amassing 55 per cent of all submissions from our supporters to win the illustrious award for the first time.

Bukayo Saka came second, while Gabriel Martinelli finished in third spot.

Martin finished as joint top-scorer alongside that duo after netting 15 times in the Premier League - an impressive haul given that the only central midfielder to score as many in a season for us in the competition’s history is Cesc Fabregas in 2009/10. 

He also laid on seven assists for his teammates in all competitions, taking him to 22 goal involvements for the campaign.

Buy your Odegaard 2023/24 home kit now

Having been handed possession of the armband at the start of the campaign, the Norwegian was instrumental throughout. He scored twice against Bournemouth in August to send us top of the table for the first time, which would be the first of nine goals he netted away from home, the most by one of our midfielders in a single Premier League season.

Another brace against Wolves took him up to five before the World Cup break, and in January he memorably netted a superb strike from range to help us on our way to our first victory at the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium.

Martin hit a rich vein of goalscoring form towards the end of the campaign, as he hit he net five times in five games including another pair to help us beat Chelsea in April, allowing him to surpass his best-ever tally of his career.

Individual accolades have also come his way, having been named the Premier League Player of the Month for November/December, and was he nominated for the division’s Player and Young Player of the Year awards.

He was crowned Football London Player of the Season in March, and received our Player of the Month prize in April, the same month that saw him complete a century of games for the club since his arrival back in January 2021.

Find out more about the history of the award

See Full List

Fixtures & Results

Carabao Cup
Ticket Info