Three Gunners get England World Cup call

Bukayo Saka for England

Bukayo Saka, Aaron Ramsdale and Ben White will be heading to their first World Cup after being selected in the England squad for the tournament in Qatar.

The trio have been chosen by Gareth Southgate as part of his 26-man squad hoping to pick up the trophy for the first time since 1966. The Three Lions will be looking to build on their semi-final appearance four years ago in Russia, as well as their runners-up spot at Euro 2020.

Buyako has won 20 caps for his country since making his debut in 2020, scoring four times in that period. He is the reigning England Player of the Year for his performances that helped the Three Lions reach Qatar, scoring three goals in five qualifying matches. 

Aaron Ramsdale for England

Aaron, meanwhile, made his international bow last season in the qualifier against San Marino in November 2021, and made two further appearances in the summer in Nations League games against Italy and Hungary. He’ll vie with Jordan Pickford and Nick Pope for the goalkeeper’s jersey.

Ben will be hoping to add to his four caps for his country, the first two of which came during his time at Brighton & Hove Albion before Euro 2020, and he was a part of the 26-man squad for the tournament last summer. He has won two further caps since switching to north London in March’s friendlies against Switzerland and the Ivory Coast.

Ben White England

England kick off their campaign against Iran on Monday, November 21 before a meeting with Matt Turner’s USA side four days later. Their group stage campaign concludes with a battle of Britain against Wales on Tuesday, November 29.

Confirmed England squad

GK: Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope, Aaron Ramsdale

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Conor Coady, Eric Dier, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker, Ben White

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham, Conor Gallagher, Jordan Henderson, Mason Mount, Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice

Forwards: Phil Foden, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, James Maddison, Marcus Rashford, Bukayo Saka, Raheem Sterling, Callum Wilson

See Full List

Fixtures & Results

Premier League
Ticket Info