Alexis and Chile win Copa America 2016

Alexis and Chile: Copa America Centenario champions

Congratulations to Alexis and Chile - Copa America Centenario champions. Here's how they did it:


Alexis ChileAlexis
Monday, June 27
Argentina 0-0 Chile (Chile win 4-2 on penalties)
They've done it again - Chile are Copa America champions for the second successive year after beating Argentina on penalties in a re-run of last year's final. 

As in 2015, the game finished 0-0 after extra-time, though Argentina created a host of chances early on, with Ever Banega, Lionel Messi and Gonzalo Higuain among those to go close in the opening stages.

Gerardo Martino's side were handed a boost just before the half hour when Marcelo Diaz was sent off for a second bookable offence, but their numerical advantage lasted only 15 minutes before Marcos Rojo was shown a straight red card.


Messi and Alexis went close to finding winners at the end of normal time before the Arsenal forward was substituted after 104 minutes.

For the second year in a row, the final would be decided by spot kicks - and for the second year in a row, Chile won.

They actually missed their first penalty, Arturo Vidal seeing his effort saved by Sergio Romero, but Lionel Messi then lashed his over the bar.

Nicolas Castillo, Javier Mascherano, Charles Aranguiz, Sergio Aguero and Jean Beausejour all scored before Lucas Biglia was superbly denied by Claudio Bravo.

Alexis' replacement, Francisco Silva, stepped up to take the deciding penalty and converted it clinically to spark jubilant scenes in New Jersey.

See Full List

Fixtures & Results

Friendly Match
Ticket Info