Alexis has been named as the 2015 Player of the Year by the Football Supporters’ Federation.

The Chile international topped the fans’ vote, holding off stiff competition from runner-up Jamie Vardy. Sergio Aguero, David De Gea, Harry Kane and John Stones made up the rest of the shortlist.

The best of Alexis
Video poster
Replay Replay Resume

Up next


More than 180,000 votes were cast in this year’s awards - previous winners include Luis Suarez (2013) and Aguero (2014).

“I’m delighted to receive the FSF Player of the Year award," Alexis said. "It’s been a great year for me on the pitch and I’m thrilled it has been recognised by the fans.

“Arsenal have enjoyed a good start to the season and it was disappointing to pick up an injury at this important time. But I‘m hoping to be back soon to help my team-mates have another successful year.”

Arsène Wenger said: “Alexis has had a fantastic year - winning the FA Cup with us and the Copa America with Chile. He has made a huge impact on English football since his arrival and I’m very happy that his skill, ability and dedication has been recognised by football fans across the country.”

Kevin Miles, chief executive of the Football Supporters’ Federation, said: “Alexis is a fantastic player who has lit up the Premier League since arriving in 2014. He’s a constant threat and played a huge role in helping Arsenal win the FA Cup last season, including a goal in the final.

“Thierry Henry called him Arsenal’s best signing of the past six years - and we certainly wouldn’t disagree. He’s a worthy winner of the FSF Player of the Year award.”

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
7 Dec 2015