Arsenal Women

Arsenal Women History

The 2022/23 season marks the 35th anniversary of women’s football at Arsenal – and what a 35 years it’s been.

We were founded in 1987 by Vic Akers, who during a 22-year stint as manager led us to a stunning 33 major trophies and revolutionised the women’s game in this country.

We won our first trophy – the Premier League Cup – in 1992, and followed that up by winning a domestic treble the following season. 

Akers’ total haul included three domestic trebles, 12 Premier League titles, 10 FA Cups and 10 League Cups. There was also a historic campaign a decade ago in which we won an unprecedented quadruple, becoming the first – and so far only – British team to claim the UEFA Women’s Cup (before it was rebranded as the Women’s Champions League).

That was a truly unique season. We won all 22 of our league games, scoring 119 goals and conceding just ten, swept all before us in the cups and were crowned European champions after beating Swedish side Umea 1-0 in a two-legged final. Oh, and if that wasn’t enough, we actually won another two trophies that season: the now-defunct Community Shield and London County FA Women’s Cup.

That historic campaign came in the middle of a spell of unprecedented success during which we won nine consecutive league titles. And although we haven’t won the league since 2012, we had until 2017 won a trophy every season since 2003. 

We did manage an unbeaten Spring Series campaign to finish third, one point behind champions Chelsea and Manchester City, and but for Liverpool’s late equaliser in a thrilling 4-4 draw would have taken the title. Even better, we have the Continental Cup back in the trophy cabinet after beating Manchester City 1-0 in the 2018 final.

The current squad is an exciting blend of youth and experience, featuring 8 different nationalities and young stars who have come through the ranks here.

On top of that we traditionally dominate the English game at youth level, and also have an FA WSL Development Squad and sides at U17, U15, U13, U11 and U9 levels.

Arsenal Women Information

Honorary President Vic Akers
Head of Women's Football Clare Wheatley
Head Coach Jonas Eidevall
Assistant Coach Aaron D'Antino
Assistant & Personal Development Coach Leanne Hall
Goalkeeper Coach Sebastian Barton
Head of Sports Medicine & Sports Science Gary Lewin
Lead Strength & Conditioning Coach Eoin Clarkin
Assistant Strength & Conditioning Coach Fran Silver
Doctor Dr Dionisio Izquierdo
Lead Physiotherapist Rose Glenndinning
Assistant Physiotherapist Outhman Serbout
Sports Psychologist Dr Matt Domville
Analyst Jonny Dixon
Team Operations Manager Holly Skinner
Academy Manager James Honeyman


Jordan Nobbs
Beth Mead
Leah Williamson
Nikita Parris
Lotte Wubben-Moy

Republic of Ireland
Katie McCabe

Kim Little
Jennifer Beattie

Vivianne Miedema

Manuela Zinzberger
Laura Wienroither

Mana Iwabuchi

Lia Walti
Noelle Maritz

Caitlin Foord
Steph Catley
Lydia Williams

Rafaelle Souza

Frida Maanum

Simone Boye

Stina Blackstenius

Club Sponsors
Arsenal Football Club
Fly Emirates 

Additional Sponsors
Visit Rwanda

See Full List

Fixtures & Results

Premier League
Ticket Info