Press conference

Should Lacazette’s disallowed ‘goal’ have stood?

In a match of fine margins, our early disallowed ‘goal’ proved to be a decisive moment.

So what did Mikel Arteta make of the third-minute incident which saw Alex Lacazette head us in front, only for it to be chalked off for an apparent infringement by Granit Xhaka?
“Yes [it's harsh] because Granit is behind Schmeichel,” our manager said. “He is not in front of him so he is nothing to do with that ball, it is away from him and Granit is behind. But it's okay, they made that decision and we cannot change it.
“We can have our view, but we have the specialists who are the referees to make that decision and they made a call that it wasn't allowed.
“Obviously it had a massive impact on the game because you have two teams where the margins are minimal. I think we should still have not lost the game.”

See Full List

Fixtures & Results

UEFA Champions League
Ticket Info