Emirates Cup

History of the Emirates Cup

Arsenal will host the Emirates Cup for the eighth time this weekend with Wolfsburg, Villarreal and Lyon joining the Gunners for the traditional pre-season tournament.

Arsene Wenger's side will be aiming to win the trophy for the fourth time since its inauguration while fine-tuning their preparations for the 2015/16 season.

2007 winners: Arsenal

Paris Saint-Germain, Valencia and Inter Milan were the guests for the inaugural competition in 2007 and Arsenal kicked off their campaign with a 2-1 win against the French giants courtesy of goals from Mathieu Flamini and Nicklas Bendtner. PSG's 3-0 victory over Valencia on the Sunday had left the Gunners in the knowledge that a win against Inter Milan would see them lift the trophy in front of a packed Emirates Stadium.

David Suazo's goal on the hour mark left Arsenal's fate in the balance but a quick reply from Alex Hleb and a stunning 85th-minute winner from Robin van Persie handed Arsenal the trophy.


Arsenal won the inaugural Emirates Cup in 2007

Arsenal won the inaugural Emirates Cup in 2007



2008 winners: Hamburg

In 2008, European heavyweights Real Madrid and Juventus were the opponents alongside Hamburg. David Trezeguet's first-half winner condemned Arsenal to their first defeat in the tournament and just their second at their new home. The result, combined with Real Madrid's 2-1 win over Hamburg on the opening day, meant Arsenal needed a big win over the Spanish club and a favourable outcome in the other game if they were to retain the trophy.

An Emmanuel Adebayor penalty was enough to beat Bernd Schuster's team in an entertaining game but Hamburg's 3-0 win over Juventus earlier that afternoon saw the German side lift the cup.


Abou Diaby in action against Real Madrid

Abou Diaby in action against Real Madrid

2009 winners: Arsenal

Arsenal welcomed PSG, Rangers and Atletico Madrid to N5 in 2009 and opened up with a late winner against the Spaniards. Substitute Andrey Arshavin looked to have won it for the Gunners when he volleyed in Cesc Fabregas' cross but German Pacheco levelled seconds later. However, the Russian forward wasn't finished and in stoppage time he flicked over Sergio Asenjo and slotted home from a tight angle to give Arsenal the points.

A 1-1 draw between PSG and Atletico in day two's opening game meant Rangers were the only side who could overtake Arsenal going into the final game. However, the Scottish champions were blown away with two goals inside the first 15 minutes from Jack Wilshere and Eduardo. Wilshere, who was voted man of the match in both of the Gunners' games, volleyed home a third 18 minutes from time to cap a memorable weekend for the teenager.


The Gunners regained the cup in 2009

The Gunners regained the cup in 2009



2010 winners: Arsenal

Arsenal retained the Emirates Cup for the first time in 2010 after drawing with AC Milan and beating Celtic. New signing Marouane Chamakh scored his first Emirates Stadium goal to give Arsenal the lead against Milan but they were pegged back by Alexandre Pato with 13 minutes remaining.

The Gunners lifted the trophy for the third time in four tournaments after surviving a late fightback from Tony Mowbray's side on the Sunday. Carlos Vela's early goal set them on their way before strikes from French duo Bacary Sagna and Samir Nasri either side of half-time seemingly put Wenger's men in cruise control. But Daryl Murphy pulled one back for Celtic and Ki Sung-Yueng's goal seven minutes from time set up a grandstand finish, but Arsenal held on.


The trophy is retained in 2010

The trophy is retained in 2010



2011 winners: New York Red Bulls

Emirates Cup 2011 had a more global feel to it with the New York Red Bulls and Boca Juniors joining regulars PSG in north London. Arsenal looked set to open their tournament with a win after Van Persie and Aaron Ramsey goals had given them a two-goal cushion against PSG. But quickfire strikes from Lucas Viatri and Pablo Mouche pegged Arsenal back and left the tournament wide open going into the second day.

PSG's 3-0 win over Boca Juniors meant Arsenal needed a win against the Red Bulls to clinch a fourth Emirates Cup. Van Persie's first-half header looked to have secured the silverware for Arsenal for another year but a late Kyle Bartley own goal, with Thierry Henry the catalyst, was enough for the American side to lift the cup.


Gervinho takes on the Red Bulls

Gervinho takes on the Red Bulls



2013 winners: Galatasaray

The 2012 Olympics in London meant the Emirates Cup had to be put on hold for a year but the competition returned in 2013 with Napoli, Galatasaray and Porto visiting the Emirates.

Arsenal opened their tournament against Rafael Benitez's Napoli, who they would later face in the Champions League group stage. Two goals in the first half from Lorenzo Insigne and Goran Pandev put the Italians in the driving seat but Arsenal launched a spirited comeback in the final 20 minutes. Olivier Giroud's instinctive overhead kick reduced the arrears before Laurent Koscielny headed Arsenal back on terms with four minutes to go.

With the advantage of playing second on the Sunday, Arsenal again knew that a win against Emmanuel Eboue's Galatasary would ensure they finished the tournament in first place. Theo Walcott's opportunist goal five minutes before the break sent the Gunners ahead but former Chelsea striker Didier Drogba was the scourge of Arsenal with two goals in the final 15 minutes to hand the Turkish side the trophy.


Theo Walcott curls in Arsenal's goal against Galatasaray

Theo Walcott curls in Arsenal's goal against Galatasaray



2014 winners: Valencia

After Germany's impressive summer in Brazil Arsenal were without several of their World Cup stars for the 2014 tournament, but the Gunners' youngsters stepped up to put on a show for those inside Emirates Stadium.

Yaya Sanogo - deputising for the absent Olivier Giroud - got Arsene Wenger's side off to a flying start by scoring four goals in a convincing 5-1 win against Benfica, with Joel Campbell adding another. Valencia and Monaco played out a 2-2 draw in the other opener, meaning Arsenal led the tournament going into the second day's game against the Ligue 1 side.

Radamel Falcao scored on his return from the knee injury which kept him out of the World Cup to deny Arsenal a fourth Emirates Cup triumph, before Valencia came from a goal behind to take the trophy back to Spain for the first time.


Valencia win the Emirates Cup

Valencia win the Emirates Cup



For tickets to Emirates Cup 2015, click here

See Full List

Fixtures & Results

Europa League
Ticket Info









Premier League
Europa League