Arsène Wenger has named his 16-man squad for tonight's Carling Cup tie against Liverpool.

As revealed by yesterday, Abou Diaby is the notable inclusion. The French midfielder is in line for his first appearance in an Arsenal shirt since fracturing and dislocating his ankle at Sunderland last May.

Cesc Fabregas is back after serving a suspension during Saturday's FA Cup win at Anfield while Kolo Toure and Johan Djourou look set to start in central defence.

Wenger has opted for a blend of internationals and inexperienced youngsters. That second category includes Henri Lansbury, yet to feature for the first team.

Mark Randall and Armand Traore are included after featuring in the Carling Cup victories at West Brom and Everton this season while Matthew Connolly is back from his loan spell at Bournemouth.

2. Abou Diaby
4. Francesc Fabregas
5. Kolo Toure
9. Julio Baptista
15. Denilson
17. Alex Song
20. Johan Djourou
21. Mart Poom
24. Manuel Almunia
30. Jeremie Aliadiere
31. Justin Hoyte
32. Theo Walcott
33. Matthew Connolly
40. Henri Lansbury
43. Mark Randall
45. Armand Traore

11/4 - Arsenal to beat Liverpool in 90 minutes

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
9 Jan 2007