Robin van Persie is among the names on a six-man shortlist for the PFA Premier League Player of the Year award.

The Arsenal captain has enjoyed a sensational season in front of goal, finding the net 27 times in the league and assisting a further 10 goals for his team-mates.

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, meanwhile, has been nominated for the league's Young Player of the Year award.

The winner will be announced at the PFA awards on Sunday.

PFA Player of the Year shortlist: Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Scott Parker (Tottenham), Sergio Aguero, Joe Hart, David Silva (all Manchester City).

PFA Young Player of the Year shortlist: Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Gareth Bale, Kyle Walker (both Tottenham), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Daniel Sturridge (Chelsea).

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
16 Apr 2012