Robin van Persie will wear the Arsenal No 10 shirt next season.

The Dutchman has taken on the number vacated by William Gallas, whose contract ended on June 30.

Van Persie follows in the footsteps of his compatriot Dennis Bergkamp, who donned the No 10 shirt during his Arsenal days.

Carlos Vela has also changed his squad number. He is now No 11.

Anyone who has already pre-ordered the new Arsenal No 10 or 11 shirts from with Robin van Persie's name and number will receive their shirt with the new squad number.

Anyone who has pre-ordered or bought the new Arsenal shirts with ‘Vela 12' from can return their shirt to exchange it for one with the updated number. Proof of purchase will be required.

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
20 Jul 2010