Robin Van Persie will make his first start since August 28 against Wigan tonight.

The Dutch striker will captain the Arsenal side for the Carling Cup Quarter-Final and is joined in the starting line-up by Nicklas Bendtner, Carlos Vela and Theo Walcott.

Wojciech Szczesny starts in goal and Johan Djourou partners Laurent Koscielny at the centre of the Arsenal defence.

Jack Wilshere and Denilson start in midfield.

There is youth on the bench in the form of Jay Emmanuel-Thomas, Craig Eastmond, Havard Nordtveit and goalkeeper James Shea.

Team in full: Szczesny, Eboue, Koscielny,  Djourou, Gibbs, Denilson, Wilshere, Walcott, Bendtner, Van Persie (c), Vela

Subs: Sagna, Nasri, Arshavin, Eastmond, Emmanuel-Thomas, Nordtveit, Shea.

A reminder to fans that this evening’s tie must be decided tonight. If the scores are level after 90 minutes, extra time and then penalties will be used to split the teams.

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
30 Nov 2010