Arsène Wenger has included Emmanuel Frimpong and Francis Coquelin in his starting line-up to face Aston Villa on Wednesday.

With Johan Djourou injured, Coquelin will deputise at right-back. That means Laurent Koscielny and Per Mertesacker will continue at the heart of defence, with Thomas Vermaelen in once more at left-back.

Frimpong, meanwhile, will fill in for the suspended Alex Song at the heart of midfield. Aaron Ramsey and Mikel Arteta will continue in Arsenal engine room.

Wenger has kept faith once more with the same trio in attack, as Theo Walcott, Gervinho and Robin van Persie all start in the West Midlands.

Team in full: Szczesny, Coquelin, Mertesacker, Koscielny, Vermaelen, Frimpong, Arteta, Ramsey, Walcott, Gervinho, Van Persie.

Subs: Almunia, Squillaci, Benayoun, Arshavin, Rosicky, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Chamakh.

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
21 Dec 2011