By Richard Clarke

Mikael Silvestre, Carlos Vela and Nicklas Bendtner are all likely to start for Arsenal at Burnley on Tuesday in the Carling Cup Quarter-Finals.

Arsène Wenger has said he intends to play a young side through this competition this season but, as ever, will utilise the bench from the previous Premier League game at Turf Moor. That means these three internationals will be involved.

However, overall it will be another young Arsenal side on display in Lancashire and a couple of injuries against Chelsea have given the Frenchman less room for manoeuvre.

Johan Djourou (hip), Manuel Almunia (head) and William Gallas (calf) all left Stamford Bridge with knocks. The last of those is the most serious and even that was described by Wenger as “light” but, as a result, he’ll be taking no risks.

“It will be the usual team for us,” Wenger told Arsenal TV Online on Monday. “But then with all the players we have out it may be even younger than before.

“The players who were on the bench at Chelsea will be involved but those who started will not.

“That means Silvestre will play and so will Fabianski of course. We have some other first-team players [that] will play too – Vela and Bendtner.

“But we cannot play Djourou for example, he was injured at Chelsea. Gallas as well has a little calf problem. Kolo Toure and Emmanuel Eboue are not back so they will not be involved.”

Arsenal TV Online subscribers will be able to see the full video interview on Tuesday. In it Wenger talks about:

  • The win at Chelsea
  • Learning lessons after the win against Man United
  • The change of captaincy
  • The Carling Cup players in the first team now
  • Fabianski’s double save in the last round
  • Jack Wilshere’s need to impress
  • The progress of Amaury Bischoff
  • Defending his great record in the competition
  • The pressure on him in Carling Cup games
Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
1 Dec 2008