Atletico Madrid

Full Name: Club Atlético de Madrid S.A.D

From: Madrid, Spain

Nicknames: Atletico, Los Colchoneros (the mattress makers), Rojiblancos (red and whites)

Kit - Atletico Madrid

Club colours: Red and white stripes, blue shorts

Ground: Vicente Calderon, Madrid (capacity 55,000 approx)

Last Season: Fourth in La Liga

Abel Resino

Manager: Abel Resino


No first-team goalkeepers listed.

Juanito, Tomas Ujfalusi, Luis Amaranto Perea, Pablo Ibanez, Antonio Lopez, Mariano Pernia, John Heitinga.

Jose Manuel Jurado, Diego da Silva, Maxi Rodriguez, Marcos Assuncao, Jose Antonio Reyes, Simao Sabrosa, Juan Valera, Camacho, Cleber Santana, Raul Garcia, Luis Garcia.

Sergio Leonel Aguero, Florent Sinama-Pongolle, Diego Forlan.


Intercontinental Cup 1974
Uefa Cup Winners' Cup 1962
Uefa Intertoto Cup 2007


  • Atletico have won both La Liga and the Copa Del Ray on nine occasions, including a double in 1996.
  • They have a fierce rivalry with Real Madrid, who are traditionally known as the team of the establishment while Atletico are characterized by a ‘sentimiento de rebeldia’ (a sense of rebellion). Matches between the pair are called El Derbi Madrileno.
  • The nickname ‘mattress makers’ comes from their first-team stripes being the same colour as old-fashioned mattresses
  • The club was founded on October 9, 1939, however a previous club called Athletic Club de Madrid, was founded by three Basque students living in Madrid in 1903.
  • This club went to England to buy their kit in 1911. Their blue shorts came from Blackburn Rovers while their red and white striped shirts came from Sunderland.
  • Eight members of the squad were killed during the Spanish Civil War
  • Athletic Club merged with Spanish Air Force team Aviacion Nacional in 1939 and adopted the name Club Atletico de Madrid in 1947.
  • In 1953, Atletico were thrashed 5-1 by Tottenham in the Cup Winners’ Cup Final.
  • Ron Atkinson was the Atletico manager in 1988-89
  • In 1992, controversial club president Jesus Gil closed down Atletico’s youth academy, which at the time featured Raul. With no club, the striker moved across town to Real Madrid to become their all-time leading goalscorer.

Vicente Calderon - Atletico Madrid

Vicente Calderon - Atletico Madrid

Paris Saint Germain

Full name: Paris Saint-Germain F.C

From: Paris, France

Nicknames: PSG

Kit - Paris Saint-Germain

Club colours: Navy blue and red

Ground: Parc des Princes, Paris (capacity 48,000 approx)

Last Season: sixth in Ligue 1

Antoine Kombouare

Manager: Antoine Kombouare

Gregory Coupet, Apoula Edima Edel

Marcos Ceara, Mamadou Sakho, Gregory Bourillon, Sammy Traore, Zoumana Camara, Sylvain Armand, Florian Makhedjouf, Alassane Tambe.

Claude Makelele, Stephane Sessegnon, Clement Chantome, Jeremy Clement, Tripy Makonda, Jerome Rothen, Granddi Ngoyi, Younousse Sankhare, Maxime Partouche, Abdelaziz Barrada, Albert Baning, Youssouf Mulumbu.

Ludovic Giuly, Peguy Luyindula, Guillaume Hoarau, Mevlut Erding, Mateja Kezman, Loris Arnaud, Jean-Eudes Maurice, Yannick Boli.


Uefa Cup Winners' Cup 1996
Uefa Intertoto Cup 2001


  • PSG have been playing in Ligue 1 since 1974, the current championship record
  • The club was founded in 1904 with the name Stade Saint Germain. In 1970, after a merger with Paris FC, the name Paris Saint-Germain was adopted
  • PSG enjoy a fierce rivalry with Olympique Marseilles
  • Manager Antoine Kombouare spent two years playing for Aberdeen making 44 appearances
  • Fashion designer Daniel Hechter designed PSG’s iconic shirt in 1973
  • The club badge shows the cradle of King Louis XIV, the Saint Germain en Laye city coat of arms, underneath the Eiffel Tower
  • Notable ex-players include Nicolas Anelka, Ronaldinho, George Weah and Ray Wilkins
  • Despite spending the last 25 years in Ligue 1, PSG have won it only twice
  • The Parc des Princes was originally a velodrome and marked the finish of the Tour de France
  • The stadium was France’s national stadium until the Stade de France was built for France ’98

Parc des Princes - Paris Saint-Germain

Parc des Princes, Paris


Full name: Rangers Football Club

From: Glasgow, Scotland

Nicknames: The Gers,Teddy Bears

Kit - Rangers

Club colours: Royal blue shirt, white shorts

Ground: Ibrox Stadium (capacity 51,100 approx)

Last Season: 1st in the Scottish Premier League

Walter Smith

Manager: Walter Smith

Allan McGregor, Graeme Smith, Neil Alexander,

David Weir, Sasa Papac, Kirk Broadfoot, Andy Webster, Steven Smith, Steven Whittaker, Jordan McMillan, Danny Wilson, Greg Wylde.

Maurice Edu, Pedro Mendes, Barry Ferguson, Kevin Thomson, Charlie Adam, DaMarcus Beasley, Madjid Bougherra, Aaron Niguez, Steven Davis, Steven Lennon, Steven Kinniburgh.

Kris Boyd, Nacho Novo, Lee McCulloch, Steven Naismith, Alan Gow, Kenny Miller, Kyle Lafferty, Andrius Velicka, John Fleck, Andrew Little.


European Cup Winners' Cup 1972


  • Rangers have won 52 domestic League titles, more than any other club in the world.
  • In 1961, Rangers became the first British club to compete in a European Cup Final when they reached the Final of the Cup Winners’ Cup.
  • Rangers have a fierce rivalry with their cross-city neighbours Celtic – the two are collectively known as the Old Firm.
  • The club were named ‘Rangers’ after an English rugby club in 1872.
  • Rangers were one of the 10 clubs to take part in the inaugural, 10-team Scottish Football League. After finishing joint top and drawing the play-off 2-2 with Dumbarton, the League title was shared for the only time in its history.
  • In season 1898/99, Rangers finished with a perfect record of 18 wins in 18 fixtures.
  • On January 2, 1971, 66 people were killed in the Ibrox disaster when an 80,000-strong crowd tried to disperse after a 1-1 draw with Celtic.
  • Rangers won an incredible nine consecutive titles from 1988/89 to 1996/97.
  • The assistant manager is former Scotland striker and all-time leading Rangers goalscorer Ally McCoist.
  • The club’s traditional support largely comes from the Protestant community, while Celtic’s comes from the Catholic community.

Ibrox - Rangers

Ibrox Stadium, Glasgow

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
31 Jul 2009