Full Name: Barnet FC

From: Barnet, London

Nicknames: The Bees

Barnet kit

Club colours: Amber and black

Ground: Underhill, High Barnet

Last season: 17th in League Two

Ian Hendon

Manager: Ian Hendon

Lee Harrison, Ran Kadoch, Phil Carpenter, Jake Cole

Joe Devera, Kenny Gillet, Ismail Yakubu, Jeremy De Magalhaes, Gary Breen,

Michael Leary, Albert Adomah, Nicky Deverdics, Joe Tabiri, Ashley Carew, Danny Hart, Aryan Taj, Ryan Burge, Mark Hughes, Nicky Nicolau,

Cliff Akurang, Luke Medley, Elliot Charles, Paul Furlong, John O’Flynn,



  • Barnet FC was formed in 1888 by ex-scholars of Cowley College and Lyonsdown Collegiate School having formerly been known as New Barnet and Woodville FC.
  • In 1912/13 Barnet were inaugural members of the Athenian League, an amateur division made up of teams from in and around London. They completed in it for 50 years and were champions seven times.
  • Having originally played in New Barnet, the club moved to their current home Underhill in 1907.
  • In 2004, Arsenal won the equivalent fixture 10-1 having gone behind early on. Jose Antonio Reyes and Francis Jeffers both scored hat-tricks for the Gunners.
  • Manager Ian Hendon took over from former boss Paul Fairclough at the turn of the year. Originally their player-manager, Hendon retired from playing earlier this week.
  • The club’s crest, designed in the 50s, features a green hill which represents the hill of High Barnet and red and white crossed swords and roses. This represents the Battle Of Barnet, one of the most important battles of the War of the Roses.
  • Their nickname the Bees is believed to have come from the apiaries close to Underhill in the early years of the 20th century.
  • Underhill is the smallest Football League ground in London with an approximate capacity of just over 5,500.
  • Barnet currently boast two former Arsenal youth players in their squad – Nicky Nicolau and Albert Jarrett.
  • Arsenal and Barnet have never met in a competitive match.

Underhill Stadium - Barnet

Underhill, Barnet

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
17 Jul 2009