Standard Liège

Full name Royal Standard de Liege

From Liege, Belgium

Nickname Les Rouches (The Reds)

Kit - Standard Liege

Club colours Red shirts, white shorts, red socks

Ground Stade Maurice Dufranse

Standard Liege manager Laszlo Boloni

Last season 1st in the Belgian First Division

Manager Laszlo Boloni


Kristof Van Hout, Jesse Soubry, Anthony Moris, Sinan Bolat

Reginal Goreux, Victor Ramos, Ricardo Rocha, Felipe, Cedric Collet, Landry Mulemo, Marcos Camozzato, Mohamed Sarr, Eliaquim Mangala, Rami Gershon

Wilfried Dalmat, Steven Defour, Gregory Dufer, Benjamin Nicaise, Arnor Angeli, Axel Witsel, Hirac Yagan, Tiago, Mehdi Carcela-Gonzalez, Andrea Mbuyi Mutombo

Dieudonne Mbokani, Igor De Camargo, Moussa Traore, Milan Jovanovic, Gohi Bi Cyriac


European Cup Winners Cup Runners-up 1982


  • They were founded in 1898 by students from College Saint-Servais in Liege
  • They were named after Standard AC Paris, who had won five French titles in the seven years from 1894
  • They became Royal Standard Club Liege in 1923. In Belgium any association which reaches its 50th anniversary is awarded the Royal title, though at the time it was given to organisations established for 25 years
  • The city of Liege is over 1,000 years old, and for eight centuries was an independent principality
  • Arsenal's record away win came against Standard Liege. The Gunners won 7-0 in a Cup Winners' Cup clash in November 1993
  • This season marks Standard's debut in the Champions League Group Stage
  • Standard are currently fourth in the Belgium Pro League with 25 points from 15 games.
  • They have won 10 Belgian titles and five Belgian Cups
  • Manager Laszlo Boloni won 104 caps for Hungary during his playing days
  • Like Arsène Wenger, Boloni was once manager of Monaco

Maurice Dufrasne Stadium - Standard Liege

Stade Maurice Dufranse - Standard Liege

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
15 Sep 2009