Olympiacos FC

Full Name: Olympiacos Club of Fans of Piraeus F.C

From: Athens, Greece

Nickname: The legend

Kit - Olympiacos

Club Colours: Red and white striped shirts, red shorts, red socks with white trim

Ground: Karaiskakis Stadium

Olympiacos manager Zico

Last season: First in Greek Super League

Manager: Zico



Leonidas Panagopoulos, Antonis Nikopolidis, Urko Pardo

Kykriaskos Papadopoulos, Didier Domi, Olof Mellberg, Giorgos Galitsio, Michał Zewłakow, Raul Bravo, Avraam Papadopoulos, Leonardo, Tasos Pantos, Vassilis Torosidis

Ieroklis Stoltidis, Luciano Galletti, Óscar González, Jaouad Zairi, Andreas Vasilogiannis, Dudu, Giorgos Niklitsiotis, Enzo Maresca, Cristian Ledesma, Aristidis Soiledis, Giannis Papadopoulos, Giorgos Katsikogiannis

Matt Derbyshire, Diogo, Kostas Mitroglou

Website: www.olympiakos.gr


  • The red and white colours Olympiacos play in symbolise passion (red) and purity (white)
  • The Club hymn 'Fevgate apo mbros' means 'Get out of the way'
  • Olympiacos won the Greek league consecutively for seven seasons from 1996/97 to 2002/03
  • Olympiacos isn't just a football club. They also have major basketball, volleyball and water polo teams
  • As well as that there are teams for athletics, swimming, boxing, weightlifting,  table-tennis, sailing, tennis, kyaking, wrestling, shooting, motor racing and rowing
  • They have won 35 Greek Championships and 23 Greek Cups
  • Olympiacos need a point to qualify against Arsenal tonight. If they lose, a Standard Liege win would see the Greeks crash out of the Champions League
  • Their home ground, the Karaiskakis Stadium, is named after Georgios Karaiskakis, a hero of the Greek War of Independence
  • Olympiacos are currently second in the Greek Super League with three wins and a draw so far this season
  • Ex-Blackburn man Matt Derbyshire signed a four-year deal at Karaiskakis Stadium over the summer after a successful loan spell there last season

Georgios Karaiskakis Stadium - Olmpiacos

Georgios Karaiskakis Stadium - Olmpiacos

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.arsenal.com as the source
25 Sep 2009