Full name Fenerbahce SK

From Istanbul, Turkey

Nickname Yellow Canaries

Fenerbahce kit

Club colours Yellow and blue striped shirts, blue shorts, blue socks

Ground Şükrü Saracoğlu Stadium (55,000)

Last season 2nd in Turkcell SuperLig

Luis Aragones - Fenerbahce

Manager Luis Aragones (pictured left)

Volkan Babacan, Volkan Demirel.

Can Arat, Deniz Baris, Yasin Cakmak, Roberto Carlos, Gokhan Gonul, Diego Lugano Morena, Eduardo Dracena, Onder Turaci, Mithat Yasar.

Alper Balaban, Emre Belozoglu, Ali Bilgin, Ugur Boral, Wederson, Alex, Gurhan Gursoy, Claudio Maldonado, Tumer Metin, Selcuk Sahin, Burak Yilmaz, Husnu Zeybekoglu.

Deivid De Souza, Mateus, Daniel Guiza, Colin Kazim-Richards, Ilhan Parlak, Semih Senturk.

Website www.fenerbahce.org

European Honours


  • The name Fenerbahce is a reference to an iconic lighthouse located in the Kadikoy district of Istanbul. Fener means lighthouse, bahce means garden.
  • The club also compete in volleyball, sailing and table tennis.
  • The club was founded in 1907 but had to be kept a secret because of the Ottoman law that prohibited Turkish youth establishing any club.
  • Fenerbahce joined the Istanbul League in 1909.
  • During the Turkish War of Independence, Fenerbahce played against the staff of the Royal Navy who were posted in Turkey.
  • Fenerbahce won the first season of the National Premier League, today known as the Turkcell Super League.
  • Last season saw Fenerbahce reach their first ever Champions League quarter-final. They beat Chelsea 2-1 at the Sukru Saracoglu Stadium but lost out 2-0 in the return leg at Stamfrod Bridge.
  • Fenerbahce’s coach is 70 year old Luis Aragones, the man who led Spain to glory at 2008.
  • The capture of Spaniard Daniel Guiza for €17 million is the most expensive signing ever made in Turkish football.
  • Fenerbahce overcame Serbian champions FK Partizan 4-3 on aggregate to qualify for the group stages of the Champions League.

Şükrü Saracoğlu Stadium - Fenerbahce

Şükrü Saracoğlu Stadium - Istanbul

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.arsenal.com as the source
1 Nov 2008