AZ Alkmaar

Full Name: Alkmaar Zaanstreek

From: Alkmaar, Holland

Club Colours: Red shirt with white sleeves, white shorts, white socks

Kit - AZ Alkmaar

Established: 1967

Ground: DSB Stadium

AZ Alkmaar manager Ronald Koeman

Last season: First in Eredivisie

Ronald Koeman


Joey Didulica, Erik Heijblock, Sergio Romero

Kew Jailens, Hector Moreno, Sebastien Pocognoli, Niklas Moisander, Mike Boelee, Mettin Copier, Toine van Hulzen

David Mendes da Silva, Stijn Schaars, Maarten Martens, Ragnar Klavan, Simon Poulsen, Pontus Wernbloom, Kees Luljckx, Nick van der Velden, Brett Holman, Gill Swerts, James Holland, Morten Nielsen, Ronald Alberg, Ben Rienstra, Kolbeinn Sigthorsson, Wouter De Vogel

Jeremain Lens, Ari, Mounir El Hamdaoui, Moussa Dembele, Graziano Pelle, Ali Messaoud



  • The club was formed in 1967 when two clubs - Alkmaar 57 and FC Zaanstreek merged to form AZ 67.
  • The year of the club's inception was removed from the name in 1986.
  • The two letters stand for Alkmaar and Zaanstreek.
  • In the Netherlands the club is known simply as AZ. When Alkmaar is added to the name internationally, the club is effectively being referred to as Alkmaar Zaanstreek Alkmaar.
  • AZ moved to the DSB Stadium in August 2006, and opened it with a match against Arsenal. The Gunners won 3-0, Gilberto Silva scoring the stadium's first ever goal.
  • Before losing to Everton two seasons ago, AZ were unbeaten in five home games against English sides.
  • That defeat to Everton is also AZ's only ever home defeat in UEFA competition. They've played 35 such games and had enjoyed a 30-year unbeaten run until David Moyes' side spoiled their record.
  • This is AZ's debut in the Champions League and having lost to Olympiacos and drawn with Standard Liege and Arsenal, they are still looking for their first win in the competition.
  • On February 22, 1981, AZ supplied an unprecedented seven players in the Netherlands starting line-up against Cyprus. The Dutch won 3-0.
  • AZ reached the UEFA Cup final in 1981 where they faced Bobby Robson's Ipswich Town. AZ lost the first leg 3-0 and won the second 4-2, ultimately losing the final 5-4 on aggregate.

DSB Stadion - AZ Alkmaar

DSB Stadium - AZ Alkmaar

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
3 Nov 2009