Former Arsenal star Dennis Bergkamp has been voted into the National Football Museum Hall of Fame 2007 by viewers of BBC Football Focus.

For the first time, supporters were given the chance to select one player to receive this prestigious honour from a shortlist of six. Bergkamp was chosen ahead of Sir Trevor Brooking, Ray Clemence, Paul Scholes, Len Shackleton and Ray Wilson, becoming the first Dutchman to be voted in.

Bergkamp scored 120 goals in 423 games for Arsenal, helping the Club to seven major honours, including two Premier League and FA Cup doubles. He joins fellow Arsenal legends Alex James, Tony Adams, Liam Brady and Ian Wright in the Hall of Fame.

Bergkamp's award is one of 10 to be presented at the Hall of Fame ceremony in Manchester on November 15.


Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
3 Sep 2007