By Joe Brewin

Robin van Persie could be celebrating more than just a third-place finish if Arsenal win at West Bromwich Albion on Sunday.

The Dutchman, who has already picked up the PFA and FWA Player of the Year awards this season, has enjoyed a profilic campaign in front of goal for Arsène Wenger's side.

And, having fired home his 29th and 30th Premier League goals of the season in last weekend's draw against Norwich, Van Persie could be set for more than just one record at The Hawthorns.

In March, the captain became only the third Arsenal player in the last 40 years to score 25 league goals in a single season, following Malcolm Macdonald (1976/77) and Thierry Henry (2003/04, 2004/05 and 2005/06), and only the 15th in the history of the Club to reach the landmark.

Van Persie has now matched Henry for league goals over a 38-game season (set in the 2003/04 'Invincibles' campaign).

Van Persie v Henry
Player Season Goals % of total
Robin van Persie 2011/12 30 42.25%
Thierry Henry 2003/04 30 41.10%

A hat-trick against Roy Hodgson's side would equal Arsenal's post-war record for league goals in a season, set way back in 1947/48 by Ronnie Rooke.

The all-time record is 42, set by Ted Drake in 1934/35, when Herbert Chapman's Gunners scored 115 goals en route to winning the Division One title (42 games).

Meanwhile, the Dutchman is just one shy of equalling the Premier League's all-time goal record over a 38-game season. Alan Shearer (1995/96) and Cristiano Ronaldo (2007/08) currently lead the way with 31 goals.

Premier League Golden Boot winners
Season Player Team Goals
1992/1993* Teddy Sheringham Nottingham Forest/Tottenham 22
1993/1994* Andy Cole Newcastle United 34
1994/1995* Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers 34
1995/1996 Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers 31
1996/1997 Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers 25
1997/1998 Dion Dublin Coventry City 18
Michael Owen Liverpool 18
Chris Sutton Blackburn Rovers 18
1998/1999 Michael Owen Liverpool 18
Dwight Yorke Manchester United 18
Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink Leeds United 18
1999/2000 Kevin Phillips Sunderland 30
2000/2001 Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink Chelsea 23
2001/2002 Thierry Henry Arsenal 24
2002/2003 Ruud van Nistelrooy Manchester United 25
2003/2004 Thierry Henry Arsenal 30
2004/2005 Thierry Henry Arsenal 25
2005/2006 Thierry Henry Arsenal 27
2006/2007 Didier Drogba Chelsea 20
2007/2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United 31
2008/2009 Nicolas Anelka Chelsea 19
2009/2010 Dider Drogba Chelsea 29
2010/2011 Carlos Tevez Manchester City 20
Dimitar Berbatov Manchester United 20
2011/2012 Robin van Persie Arsenal 30**

* = 42-game season
** = ongoing record

Finally, the European Golden Shoe (given for the top scorer across all the European domestic leagues) may be long out of reach after the goalscoring exploits of both Lionel Messi and Ronaldo, but Van Persie is a highly-creditable third. 

Player Club League Goals Points
Lionel Messi Barcelona Spain 50 100.0
Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid Spain 45 90.0
Robin van Persie Arsenal England 30 60.0
Klass-Jan Huntelaar Schalke 04 Germany 29 58.0
Zlatan Ibrahimovic AC Milan Italy 28 56.0
Wayne Rooney Man Utd England 26 52.0
Mario Gomez Bayern Munich Germany 26 52.0
Burak Yilmaz Trabzonspor Turkey 32 48.0
Bas Dost Heerenveen Holland 32 48.0
Aleksandrs Cekulajevs Narva Trans Estonia 46 46.0
Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
11 May 2012