By Declan Taylor

Arsène Wenger is ready to defend Eduardo after Uefa’s “illogical” decision to charge the striker.

The incident occurred after 28 minutes of Arsenal’s 3-1 Champions League Play-off round victory over Celtic when Hoops’ keeper Artur Boruc appeared to bring down the Croatian inside the penalty area.

Referee Manuel Enrique Mejuto Gonzales did not hesitate to award the spot-kick and Eduardo duly converted from 12 yards.

However, on Friday morning, Uefa charged the Rio-born forward with ‘intent to cause an official to make an incorrect decision’.

The issue dominated Friday’s pre-match press conference where Wenger vowed to fight Eduardo’s corner.

“He's been charged, not charged guilty,” the manager declared. “We'll defend our player.”

If found guilty, the striker could face a two-match ban. But, if the referee had thought Eduardo had dived in the first place, the striker would have only been booked.

Wenger said: “Of course, we will argue that.

“It is completely [a] lack of logic in this case. Why? Because people have reacted emotionally, which I can understand.

“Secondly, because this case has been ruled by the media.”

Copyright 2014 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.arsenal.com as the source 28 Aug 2009