Overview of the draw
Arsenal will be among the eight top seeds when the draw for the Group Stage of the Champions League takes place in Monaco at 5pm (UK time) today.

UEFA's club coefficients are used to calculate each side's seeding in Europe's premier club competition and Arsenal's record in the Champions League puts them among the elite.

The Gunners cannot face Manchester United, Real Madrid, Chelsea, Internazionale, Liverpool, Olympique Lyon or Barcelona - the other sides in Pot One.

However, a number of big names lie in wait in Pot Two including German champions Bayern Munich, Italian giants Juventus and Arsenal's opponents in the 2006 Semi-Finals, Villarreal. The Spanish dark horses have Robert Pires and Pascal Cygan in their ranks, of course.

Gilberto's new club, Panathinaikos, are one of Arsenal's potential opponents in Pot Three. Scottish champions Celtic also lurk in that part of the draw.

In theory, Pot Four contains the weakest teams in the competition but in practice there is plenty of quality here too with Atletico Madrid and Fiorentina as potential opponents for Arsène Wenger's side.

How the draw works
The 32 teams will be placed in four pots. Pot One will comprise the eight top-ranked clubs, Pot Two the next eight and so on for Pots Three and Four. The sides are divided into eight groups of four. The top two teams in each group will progress to the knock-out stage.

Teams from Pot One will be provisionally placed in the first position within their groups, teams from Pot Two will provisionally take the second spot in their sections, and so on.

As usual the top two sides in each group will progress to the First Knockout Round draw on December 19 while those finishing third will enter the UEFA Cup Round of 32.

You can find out which teams Arsenal will face in the Group Stage by visiting Arsenal.com later today.


Pot One
Manchester United (England), Real Madrid (Spain), Chelsea (England), Internazionale (Italy), Arsenal (England), Liverpool (England), Olympique Lyon (France), Barcelona (Spain)

Pot Two
Bayern Munich (Germany), PSV Eindhoven (Holland), Villarreal (Spain), AS Roma (Italy), FC Porto (Portugal), Werder Bremen (Germany), Sporting Lisbon (Portugal), Juventus (Italy)

Pot Three
Marseilles (France), Zenit St. Petersburg (Russia), Steaua Bucharest (Romania), Panathinaikos (Greece), Bordeaux (France), Celtic (Scotland), Basel (Switzerland), Fenerbahce (Turkey)

Pot Four
Shakhtar Donetsk (Ukraine), Fiorentina (Italy), Atletico Madrid (Spain), Dynamo Kiev (Ukraine), CFR 1907 Cluj (Romania), Aalborg BK (Denmark), Anorthosis Famagusta (Cyprus), FC BATE Borisov (Belarus)

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.arsenal.com as the source
27 Aug 2008