By Richard Clarke

Marouane Chamakh says that Scott Dann made definite contact with him in the all-important penalty incident on Saturday.

Four minutes before half-time at Emirates Stadium, Arsenal equalised Birmingham's early opener thanks to a hotly-disputed spot-kick.

The cast-iron facts are these: Chamakh went to ground after a challenge from Dann, referee Martin Atkinson pointed to the spot and Samir Nasri scored. The rest is open to debate.

The Birmingham team were unhappy with the decision but, speaking afterwards, Chamakh was in no doubt.

“There was definitely a contact,” he said. “The Birmingham defender touched me and then it was all about the ref to give it or not. Against Chelsea there was contact [from a challenge in the area] and he did not give one, today he did.

“If they don’t think it is a penalty then they can be disappointed but for me there was a definite touch. I fell because I was touched otherwise I would not have fallen in the area.”

Copyright 2014 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.arsenal.com as the source 18 Oct 2010