Arsenal will face Sparta Prague in the Third Qualifying Round of the Champions League.

Arsène Wenger's team will travel to the Czech Republic for the start of their latest European campaign on August 14 or 15 before welcoming Sparta back to Emirates Stadium for the second leg on August 28 or 29.

Please note we hope to have confirmed dates and kick off times early next week (week commencing 6th August).

Arsenal met Sparta in the Group Stage of the 2005/06 Champions League. They won 2-0 in the Czech capital on the night Thierry Henry broke Ian Wright's Club goalscoring record, and completed the double with a 3-0 win at Highbury. Henry was on target again while Robin van Persie struck twice.

Tomas Rosicky scored against Arsenal while playing for Sparta in the Group Stage of the 2000/01 competition. The Czech international,just 20 at the time, scored a fine individual goal although his side were beaten 4-2. Arsenal also won the return fixture in Prague with Silvinho scoring the only goal of the game.

Third Qualifying Round draw:

FH Hafnarfjördur (Iceland) or FC BATE Borisov (Belarus) v Zaglebie Lubin (Poland) or FC Steaua Bucharest (Romania)
Tampere United (Finland) or PFC Levski Sofia (Bulgaria) v FC Astana (Kazakhstan) or Rosenborg BK (Norway)
Spartak Moscow (Russia) v Celtic (Scotland)
Werder Bremen (Germany) v NK Domzale (Slovenia) or NK Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia)
FK Ventspils (Latvia) or FC Salzburg (Austria) v FC Pyunik (Armenia) or FC Shakhtar Donetsk (Ukraine)
Ajax (Holland) v MSK Zilina (Slovakia) or SK Slavia Prague (Czech Republic)
Valencia (Spain) v Debreceni VSC (Hungary) or IF Elfsborg (Sweden)
KRC Genk (Belgium) or FK Sarajevo (Bosnia Herzegovina) v Dynamo Kyiv (Ukraine)
Fenerbahçe (Turkey) v Anderlecht (Belgium)
Rangers FC (Scotland) or FK Zeta (Montenegro) v FC København (Denmark) or Beitar Jerusalem FC (Israel)
Toulouse (France) v Liverpool (England)
Benfica (Portugal) v FC Copenhagen (Denmark) or Beitar Jerusalem (Israel)
Lazio (Italy) v Dinamo Bucharest (Romania)
Sparta Prague (Czech Republic) v Arsenal (England)
Zürich (Switzerland) v Besiktas JK (Turkey) or FC Sheriff (Macedonia)
Sevilla (Spain) v AEK Athens (Greece)

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
3 Aug 2007