Arsenal Football Club is today delighted to announce that its most successful manager, Arsène Wenger, has signed a three year extension to his current contract, taking his tenure at the Club to June 2014.

Wenger, the longest-serving manager in the Club’s history, is as committed as ever to leading the team in the challenge for trophies at the highest level, as well as continuing to produce the sumptuous football for which Arsenal has become synonymous with during his 14 year reign.

Arsène Wenger said: “My heart belongs to Arsenal and my desire is to see this team win silverware.

“My commitment and drive are as strong and fresh as ever.  Signing a new deal means that I can see this talented group of players reach their potential.  Trust me, they are ready to deliver.

“With my staff and players we are in front of an exciting challenge and we are looking forward to achieving much success.”

Arsenal chairman Peter Hill-Wood stated:  “We are thrilled that Arsène has signed an extension to his contract. He has masterfully transformed this football club over the last 14 years and the exciting and compelling football we play under his stewardship is admired the world over.

“Arsène is a very talented man and we believe the young, exciting team he has nurtured over the past five years will reward his and the fans’ patience with silverware.”

During his time with the Gunners, Wenger has revolutionised the Club not only through the brand of successful football the team plays but also through his detailed and insightful input into the design of the state-of-the-art training centre at London Colney and the layout of the players’ and technical staff areas at Emirates Stadium.

Wenger has steered Arsenal to seven major trophies over the last 14 years, including the 2003/2004 Premier League title without losing a single game.  In each of his 13 full seasons at Arsenal, the Club has qualified for the UEFA Champions League - Europe’s premier club competition- an achievement matched only by Manchester United and Real Madrid.

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
14 Aug 2010