Wigan Athletic


Premier League
Emirates Stadium
September 19, 2009

Today's FreezeFrame takes us back to September 2009 for a convincing early-season Arsenal victory.

Arsène Wenger's side had made a stuttering start to the campaign in their opening four matches with two wins and two defeats. This incisive attacking display against the Latics got them back on track.

Midweek headlines had focused on the more unsavoury aspects of Arsenal's disappointing 4-2 defeat at Manchester City a week earlier when Emmanuel Adebayor had caused a stir, but the Gunners did not allow anything to distract them from the task in hand.

Arsenal pressed hard from the first whistle and it came as little surprise when Thomas Vermaelen planted a towering header past Chris Kirkland from Robin van Persie's corner.

The Belgian's reputation for goals is well-earned and he grabbed his second of the afternoon after fine link-up play with Emmanuel Eboue, curling home a delightful effort from the edge of the area.

By this point it was very much game over - but the goals were not. Arsenal's attacking prowess had been too much for Wigan to handle and it was not long before they had a third.

Eduardo struck a post with a volley from Gael Clichy's cross before firing home the rebound via a sizeable deflection off Eboue.

Alex Song was next to hit the woodwork as Arsenal hunted for a fourth before Wigan themselves had a goal ruled out for offside.

And the visitors' misery was compounded in injury time when Cesc Fabregas backheeled home from substitute Nicklas Bendtner's cross. A classy finish to a classy display.

Our FreezeFrame captures goalscorer Eduardo as he wheels away in celebration with Van Persie.

Arsenal: Mannone, Sagna, Gallas, Vermaelen, Clichy, Diaby (Ramsey, 66), Fabregas, Song, Eboue (Rosicky, 74), Eduardo (Bendtner, 74), Van Persie. Subs not used: Szczesny, Silvestre, Gibbs, Wilshere.

Our FreezeFrame series gives you a classic image ahead of every match. Roll your cursor over the players and click for more information.

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.arsenal.com as the source
16 Apr 2012