Following the Club’s Carling Cup victory over Spurs, midfielder Samir Nasri has declared he “can’t understand why there has been a debate” over the award of the first penalty at White Hart Lane on Tuesday night.
Nasri, who scored two penalties in the 4-1 victory said: “I can’t understand why there has been a debate about our first penalty on Tuesday night. Look on television. Bassong pulled my shirt, it was a blatant penalty and the referee gave it. It’s as simple as that.”
The French midfielder has also been speaking to the Official Matchday Programme, ahead of the Saturday’s Premier League clash with West Bromwich Albion, about why he didn’t take the penalty at Sunderland last week.
Nasri said: “When I was a young player I was told by one of my coaches at Marseille that, if the foul is on you, you don’t take the penalty. I kept it in my mind, but can now see that it was wrong. After the Sunderland game I spoke with the boss, and he told me that if it happened again I should ignore that.”
The full interview with Samir can be found in Saturday’s Official Matchday Programme. You can subscribe to the Matchday Programme by calling 08700 20 20 20.Copyright 2015 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.arsenal.com as the source