From Seville, Spain

Full Name
Sevilla Fútbol Club

"Rojiblancos" (The Red-Whites)
"Palanganas" (The Washbowl)

Club colours
White shirts, white shorts, black socks

Ground Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan (45,500)

Manager/Coach Juande Ramos

Last season 3rd in La Liga

Andrés Palop, Morgan De Sanctis, Pablo Vargas.

Ivica Dragutinovic, Daniel Alves, Julien Escudé, Aquivaldo Mosquera, Khalid Boulahrouz, Andreas Hinkel, Federico Fazio, David Prieto.

Duda, Adriano Correia, Christian Poulsen, Renato, José Luis Martí, Tom De Mul, Seydou Keita, Enzo Maresca.

Jesús Navas, Aleksandr Kerzhakov, Luis Fabiano, Frédéric Kanouté, Ernesto Chevantòn.


European Honours UEFA Cup Winners 2006, 2007 Super Cup Winners 2006 Ten Facts on... Sevilla
  • Sevilla were formed on October 14, 1905, and are the oldest football club from Seville.
  • During the 1992-93 season Diego Maradona had a spell with Sevilla. Following a successful stint with Italian side Napoli the Argentinian legend joined the Spanish club, appearing 29 times, and scoring seven goals.
  • Several of Sevilla's former players have gone on to play for Arsenal. Most notably Davor Suker, Lauren, Jose Antonio Reyes and most recently Julio Baptista.
  • Sevilla's most loyal fans (those who stand in the north end of the stadium) call themselves 'Biris'. They got their name from Alhaji Momodo Nije, who was nicknamed 'Biri-Biri'. Alhaji, a Gambian player known for his mercurial nature, was so popular with the Sevilla fans that the most loyal fans named their cheering section (and thus, themselves) after him.
  • In 2006 Sevilla broke a 58 year drought on trophies and became the first Andalusian team to win a European final. Sevilla beat Middlesbrough 4-0 in Eindhoven to win their first UEFA Cup, in what is the largest UEFA Cup final victory in history.
  • After their UEFA Cup success Sevilla went on to clinch the UEFA Super Cup. At the Stade Louis II in Monaco, Sevilla beat Arsenal's Champions League victors Barcelona 3-0.
  • On May 16, 2007, at Hampden Park in Glasgow, Sevilla beat fellow Spanish side RCD Espanyol on penalties to win a second consecutive UEFA Cup.
  • Sevilla became only the second team to defend the UEFA Cup title, following Real Madrid, who achieved this feat in 1985 and 1986.
  • Sevilla are the current holders of the UEFA Cup, the Copa del Rey, and the Spanish Super Cup.
  • Sevilla progressed to the UEFA Champions League group stages through a 6-1 aggregate victory over AEK Athens. They currently sit second in La Liga after winning both of their opening league games 4-1.
Picture Gallery

UEFA Cup Winners 2007

UEFA Cup Winners 2007

UEFA Cup Winners 2006

UEFA Cup Winners 2006

Copyright 2017 The Arsenal Football Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source
4 Sep 2007